RSS

Cookie Get Well Soon!

03 Mar

68-8-06Grand Cookie, my brother’s Pomeranian, was not feeling too great lately. An advanced age of 16, he has been in relatively good health though his eyesight has gotten very weak. Last year when I was back in
Hong Kong to visit my parents, I took him for a walk. He had a great time, and trotted proudly in the lead, never showing sign of fatigue. Because of his eyes, he was blissfully ignorant of other dogs nearby. One lady commented how well trained Cookie was and I laughed, he isn’t well trained, he just doesn’t hold any dogs in his eyes!Anyway, according to my mom, the last few days Cookie wasn’t acting right. He kept shaking his head, couldn’t walk straight, and bumped into everything. They took him to the vet. Best case scenario, an ear infection or something that affected his sense of balance. Worst case scenario, a brain tumor. He got really sick, just lying there, not moving, not eating.

My mom called me on Sat and left a message on my cell. I feared that she was to break some bad news to me. But Cookie has gotten better miraculously. He is now walking around, still blind as a bat and bumping everyway he could. My mom however didn’t give him any slack, and insisted that he has to go to the proper toilet spot for his business and somehow Cookie makes it after a few mishaps. Wow. Michael said so much for the saying of can’t teach old dog new trick. So, he is eating fine, pooping fine, and even peeing with one leg up.

My mom told me that Saan, my brother’s friend, is going vegetarian for Cookie. I said in surprise, I just started that too!! I just made a vow to go totally vegetarian, no regression, for a month on Grand Cookie’s behalf. Also to say 108 Medicine Buddha chants each day. Though some days I got so sleepy I lost count…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 3, 2007 in Friends & Family

 

Leave a Reply

 
