RSS

Glass no Kamen

03 Mar

Adachi

I am totally enamoured by Adachi Yumi, the girl who played Maya in the TV series of Glass no Kamen.  She is just so talented as an actress. 

purple rose

Okay, I admit that the plot is rather pitiful at times, it makes you laugh.  I ended up as well trained as Pavlov’s dog that, when the melodramatic theme song drums up, my eyes will start to well up.  The mother is dying… The brother is dying… they walk on the same street but miss each other… two people in love but the stars are all misaligned… cry, oh cry, what a sad story…

kiss 

I wish I read the manga when I got a chance to.  The series has been around for decades.  When I was still in school, my friend recommended it.  However, I didn’t like the artstyle – so 60s. I still don’t like the artstyle now, but at least now I love the TV series enough to be able to swallow that and try to enjoy the plot. 

helen keller

Alas, I no longer have such free access to the manga. My friend still has the whole series, all the way in Vancouver.  And the shipping cost is just not worth it for me to borrow it.  When I visited her, I attempted to read the series there.  But we are talking about a long, long series.  And it seems stupid to go on a vacation to be couped up in a room reading 30 years old manga.  At least, I should be reading newer stuff. Like the Heavy Metal Alchemist which my friend literally shoved on me. Unsuccessfully, I may add.  When I told her I didn’t enjoy the manga, she told me the animation is better.  When I saw it on Cartoon Network and still didn’t quite like it, she told me the original Japanese version is better.  So hope is still out there.

purple roses 

Anyway, all I have in my procession is three volumes, given to me by a Japanese friend when I was an exchange student in the country.  It is really good, she said, and apologized that she didn’t get the whole series for me.  However, I was still turned off by the artwork that I left it unread, all these years.  Until I came upon the TV series. Thankfully I can read it online.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 3, 2007 in Anime/Manga/Toy, Asia

 

Leave a Reply

 
